Climbing the iconic O2 building in London

If you have a trip in London coming up and looking for something a bit different whilst in the city, then I highly recommend you give this a go. From the start it’s a smooth, easy process – from booking online to checking in, being briefed on the activity (by very friendly staff) to the walk over the top.

image

I’ve visited the O2 a few times in the past for concerts but never did I imagine one day I would be climbing over the top of it.

Tickets cost £33 per adult. There are several time slots available to chose from throughout the day.  We arrived one evening after work and had chosen a perfect time slot, as when we arrived to the top of The O2 the sunset had painted the skies above canary wharf, creating a mind blowing setting. It was perfect and very fun to think I’m stood on the top of such an iconic building.

After receiving a safety briefing, I was given a climb suit, boots (bring socks, if you forget they do have some available) and a harness.  Feeling excited and a bit lost with all the equipment, but the friendly staff soon were at hand to show us how to get suited up and into the harnesses. Safety is important and very well highlighted throughout the experience.  There is a small pocket in the suit to carry your mobile or compact camera no bulky DSLRs allowed during the climb but they do have locker facilities to keep your personal items.

We’re ready. We make our way outside and have a group photo opportunity (you can purchase these later and only £12).  Up to the base of the climb. I step on, it’s a weird bouncy feeling, hmmmm I wasn’t expecting that it’s like a trampoline material and yes, bouncy lol.  I turn around to my friend and we both have that urge to start jumping lol, we have a little bounce lol.

Going up it slowly gets steeper and steeper, I start to feel it in my legs (this is going to hurt tomorrow) we enjoyed taking a break to take in the moment. When we get to the top we had about 15 minutes on the sturdy platform to look around, enjoy the views and take photos.  Our leader was great, he took a group panoramic photo and pointed out the buildings around.

Yay, at the top!!!

Yay, at the top!!!

image

Pink skies

Beautiful sunset from the top of the O2

Beautiful sunset from the top of the O2

Now going down… this was more challenging for myself, it was extremely steep – I went soooo slow but my group and leader was supportive. I thought about sitting on my bum and bouncing all the way down 😉

The Way down...

The Way down…

Once we reached the bottom I felt a nice sense of achievement.  Up at The 02 is definitely an unique experience with rewarding views of London from the top.  For more details, check out:  http://www.theo2.co.uk/do-more-at-the-o2/up-at-the-o2

