Guernsey: Scarecrow festival

There are so many different kinds of festivals these days from music, film, chocolate and beer to list a few. But a scarecrow festival? This was a first for me.

I’d heard good things about the scarecrows exhibited from friends, as the festival had been running for a few years.

So on a weekend break back to Guernsey, to visit family and friends, I decided to ask my parents if they fancied joining me to check it out. They did as they were also curious.

We arrived in the parish of Torteval in Guernsey, where the locals of the area make their unique and creative scarecrow designs to be displayed around the pretty country lanes. We parked in the nearby field and paid our entrance fees and got a map of the route. The route was about 1.5 hours and an easy walk.image

We all enjoyed the afternoon so much and were blown away with the quirky designs. Here are some pictures (let me know what you think about the scarecrows).

Scarecrow family

Scarecrow family

image

image

image

image

imageimage

Have you been to an unusual festival? I’d like to hear about it. 🙂

 

 

