London: a canvas for street artists

London is an AMAZING city. Away from the touristy spots (which are definitely a must see, of course) I really enjoy seeing the unique side.

One afternoon I was taken on a Graffiti and Street Art tour around East London. We had a really interesting, fun afternoon, filled with great information and best of all seeing the work of these street artists where it is meant to be seen: on the street!

Here are some of my photos:

by Paul Don Smith - created with stencils

by Paul Don Smith – created with stencils

Really like the variety of this one!

Really like the variety of this one!

by Stik - a popular East London artist

by Stik – a popular East London artist

by Stik

by Stik

Policeman taking away Mario's mushrooms

Policeman taking away Mario’s mushrooms

Since the tour, when I’m out and about, walking the streets of London (or any city), I see the street art in a totally new way. I feel like I know a bit more about the artists and their story (which I like!). It’s kinda cool spotting the international street artists work around the globe and noticing their signature marks.

by Roa - an extremely talented Belgium artist

by Roa – an extremely talented Belgium artist

 

I highly recommend taking a street art tour with Insider London, the tour guides are knowledgeable and fun. Alternatively, head out to Shoreditch /Brick Lane area and explore for yourself, who knows you may even catch some street artists creating a new master piece… We did….

Street artist at work.  Designs forever changing as artists repaint over existing images.

Street artist at work. Designs forever changing as artists repaint over existing images.

